Updating a System’s Baseline

This guide will show you how to temporarily disable Reboot Restore’s automatic restore routine and update the system baseline on VYV servers. The guide’s instructions can also be applied to Drive Vacc

Description

Restore Reboot is installed on all of our products. This software’s purpose is to restore our servers to a predefined configuration on each reboot. This preset configuration is referred to as a baseline. VYV installed software Restore Reboot to ensure the products’ stability and avoid accidental modifications applied to the servers’ operating system and its dependencies such as drivers .

However, in special circumstances, you might have to install new components such as drivers on a server. Since Restore Reboot will restore the C: volume to its baseline, newly added drivers or system components will be erased if the server reboots.

In order to keep modifications made to the C: volume, you will need to:

  1. disable the automatic restore routine;

  2. reboot the server (once or many times) to make sure the newly added driver is properly installed;

  3. update the server’s baseline once the driver has been installed;

  4. enable the automatic restore routine.

Disable the Automatic Restore Routine

  1. Launch Reboot Restore Rx Pro by clicking on the software’s icon in the taskbar or by typing “shield” in the Windows Start Menu’s search field.

  2. Reboot Restore Rx Pro will then prompt you for a username and a password. The username is “Administrator”. The password is specific to your installation and has been documented during the training. Please contact support@vyv.ca if you lost track of the password.

  3. Enter the username and the password in the text fields. (img 1)

  4. Once Reboot Restore Rx Pro is open, select the Restore Settings tab. This menu allows you to modify the settings of the software’s restore routine.

  5. Select the User Restore option. Click on the [Apply] button. (img 2)

  6. Click on the [OK] button to complete the Settings modifications and leave the Restore Settings tab.

img 1
img 2
img 3

Reboot the Server

Reboot the server in order to finalize the driver, system components of software installation. Depending on the products you have installed, you might have to reboot the server more than once.

Update the Server’s Baseline

Once the server has restarted, you will need to update the baseline to reflect the changes that were made to the system.

  1. Launch Reboot Restore Rx Pro by clicking on the software’s icon in the taskbar or by typing “shield” in the Windows Start Menu’s search field.

  2. Reboot Restore Rx Pro will then prompt you for a username and a password. The username is “Administrator”. The password is specific to your installation and has been documented during the training. Please contact support@vyv.ca if you lost track of the password.

  3. Enter the username and the password in the text fields.

  4. Once Reboot Restore Rx Pro is open, select the System Baseline tab.

  5. Click on the [Update Baseline] button. (img 1)

  6. Click on the [OK] button. (img 2)

img 1
img 2

The baseline is now updated.

Enable the Automatic Restore Routine

Once the baseline has been updated, you need to enable the automatic restore routine.

  1. Select the Restore Settings tab.

  2. Select the Automatically Restore option. Click on the [Apply] button.

  3. Click on the [OK] button.

  4. Close Reboot Restore Rx Pro.