6. File Versioning
Only in PHOTON v10
Description
A file versioning system allows PHOTON users to automatically specify which version of a file will be linked to a Timeline’s Media Clip.
Requirement
File versions have to respect the following naming convention:
anyfilename _V###
For example, multiple versions of a media named nightsky would be named : nightsky_V001, nightsky_V002, Nightsky_V003, etc.
Settings
  1. 1.
    Select {System > Settings} or press [Alt+S] to open the Settings module.
  2. 2.
    Select the General tab of the Settings module.
  3. 3.
    Select File Manager Settings panel from the list.
  4. 4.
    Locate the Preferred section.
  5. 5.
    Activate the [Enable Preferred Version] toggle.
  6. 6.
    Activate the [Preferred Latest Version] toggle.
File Manager
  1. 1.
    Select {Show > File Manager} or press [Alt+F] to open the File Manager module.
  2. 2.
    Click on the Import New Media button to open the “Import file(s)” window
  3. 3.
    Perform a group selection of the multiple versions of the media file. (Naming convention: anyfilename _V###).
Timeline
  1. 1.
    Select {Show > Timeline} or press [Alt+T] to open the Timeline module.
  2. 2.
    Make sure the File Manager module is still open.
  3. 3.
    [Click-drag] a media file included in the version collection from the File Manager list onto the Timeline.
  4. 4.
    If the {Preferred Latest Version} toggle is activated, the latest imported version will be displayed. A star will be displayed in the clip icons indicating a newer or preferred version is in use.
Select/Unset Preferred Version in the File Manager
  1. 1.
    Navigate back to the File Manager.
  2. 2.
    Right-click on the version you want to use.
  3. 3.
    Select {set preferred} from the contextual menu. A Mario star will now indicate it is the preferred version.
OR
  1. 1.
    Select {Unset Prefered} from the contextual menu. The selection will default back to the latest version if the [Preferred Latest Version] toggle is activated or the version currently set in the clip if the [Preferred Latest Version] toggle is deactivated.
Warning: This will be applied to ALL clips using one of the media in that collection.
Last modified 8mo ago
Copy link